How Do You Do It?

I have a question for you today.

Be honest: Mother’s Day aside, how often do you put yourself first?

Personally, taking care of me has been the last thing on my mind lately amid the usual plans, priorities and unexpected emergencies. Preparing for one daughter’s first time staying away from home; a confirmation at the weekend; tough choices about school transitions; demanding deadlines at work; forgotten lunches and tummy aches… Sound familiar?

“How do you do it all?” someone asked me recently.

It’s a good question!

(Sometimes, when I’ve been rushing round for other people all day and it’s 9 o clock at night before there’s the remotest chance of 5 minutes to myself, it feels like I’m not “doing it” at all.)

But when I gave it some thought, I realised my real answer to “how do we do it?” is this: to be the best we can be, in all our different roles, we have to learn to put ourselves first.

It’s definitely something I’m working on! One of my biggest challenges since becoming a mother has been learning that to give my family the love and support they need, I have to love and value myself.

Arbonne has been an unexpected champion of this for me. Running this business has encouraged me to go beyond my limitations in all the areas I’m committed to: being a mum, being a wife, and making the most of my talents to make a difference in the world.

lipsticks

When I started,  I didn’t have any spare money for me. I was paying off a debt from my previous business, bringing up two young children and my partner’s income was keeping us afloat – there were no extra funds just for “me”.

Arbonne was an opportunity to change all that. But it came with a challenge.

As part of the mentoring I received, I was encouraged to live my best life, using a 3-pronged approach to goals that was new to me:

  • Firstly, take care of your responsibilities: cover any gap in your finances that’s causing you strain, to give your family the extras they need
  • Then fill your own cup. What do you want that you can’t currently have because you don’t have available funds?
  • Finally, look outwards. When your own cup’s overflowing, what can you do to make a difference in the world and to everyone else around you? What’s your big vision, your big purpose, the impact you want to make.

This approach challenged me to see that I can only make the biggest difference I can in the world if I really commit to looking after my own needs first.

That’s the foundation from which I can use my talents fully to make the biggest difference I can in our lives, and show others how to do the same.

My first goals for me were to have a massage once a month, and to save up for a new sewing machine. Self-care and self-expression are so often the first things that go out of the window when we have children.

(Many mothers never get those things back – Jada Pinkett-Smith brilliantly articulates why they’re so important in this video )

So today I’m inviting you to think about putting yourself first. What have you not done for a long time to make yourself feel beautiful and worth more?

It doesn’t have to cost money. It might be taking fifteen minutes to sit down with a pen and paper and draw something.

Having a conversation with friends about what really matters to you.

Sinking into a long, lavender-infused bath with a facemask and a cup of herbal tea.

Giving yourself time to feel beautiful, to express yourself through colour. To play.

One thing my clients have found a really fun way to connect is to join me for a rummage through the Arbonne lipstick range (Luxury and Pure Health). We meet up for half an hour or so to find out your lipstick personality, try on some new colours and spend time together.

I love that Arbonne helps me spend time looking after me, and sharing what is so important to us all. Time to browse in comfort – how much more pleasurable than toxin-filled products and passionate sales assistants at a Department store!

Click here to book your session.

 

Leave a comment