The secret to avoiding school holiday sniffles

I’m running a workshop for runners this month at the yoga studio, and reviewing the pre– and post– workout nutrition that ensures top performance and effective recovery, I had a realization.

I’m in training myself right now, and you probably are too.

OK, I’m not lacing up my trainers and pounding the pavements for miles, (unlike my amazing sister, who ran a half marathon last weekend).

But just like the athletes getting stuck in to the final prep for the London Marathon, I’m counting the days.

Why? Because this week is the start of the Easter holidays.

Like all of us mums, I’m getting ready for the juggling to begin: making sure to fit in time for a yoga class, managing work meetings and designing as well as keeping the girls holidays fun, rewarding and happy!

With the kids at home for up to a month, I can’t wait to break out of our normal routine and do the activities we don’t always get to do – creative, quality time that family memories are made of. To make the most of it, keeping us healthy, happy and full of energy is my number one priority.

holiday sniffles

Running a business and raising kids is always a bit of a juggling act, and that’s even more true in the school holidays. I can’t just press “pause” on the rest of my life when my family need more of my time.

With me trying to squeeze everything in; the kids fired up on the excitement of being off school; and free rein for late nights and busy days, the danger is that just when we thought we’d waved goodbye to winter colds and flu, the dreaded sniffles strike again.

Not on my watch! There are so many things we can do to make wellbeing the foundation of everything we’re doing.

Today I want to share with you my secret weapons to keep all of us happy, healthy, and having fun:

  • For prevention, Arbonne’s Antioxidant and Immunity Support juices are the first thing I reach for.  They’re a complete boost which knock anything on the head that’s potentially draining your system. The extra nutrients in keep you really buoyant, so whatever nasty viruses are teetering – the tickle of a sore throat or the beginnings of a sniffle – can’t take hold.
  • If things have gone past the “run down” stage and into full on sneezing, nose blowing, and the rest… I pull out the big guns! I grab a Digestion Plus Supplement which includes a probiotic/prebiotic enzyme to support gut immunity and promote good bacteria growth. (These are the first thing my husband reached for when he came down with a virus a few weeks ago… )
  • When overtiredness strikes, stress tends to cause an acidic reaction in the body; it also often has us craving more acidic foods (think: bread, pasta, sugar…) I add a scoop of Greens Balance to my morning smoothie and glug that down first thing in the morning, before anything else. Getting that alkaline balance in first thing feels like it really sets me up for the day ahead.
  • My final tip? It’s free and totally effective, but can be the hardest thing to action. Over the next few weeks, be sure to stop and give your body and mind a break from endless activities. If home feels hectic, that might mean escaping to a gentle yoga class, soaking in a long bath or taking a walk by yourself to soak up the spring energy.

Recharging ourselves is so important, and with the right balance we can all make it through the holidays all the way to the finish line. Here’s to you and the amazing challenge that is motherhood – whether it feels like a marathon or a sprint, you’re doing amazingly.

Love, Katie

Leave a comment