A different way to balance work and family

This weekend I headed off for the big annual Arbonne Conference in Las Vegas.

(My pre-trip essentials? Phyto-sport hydration to hydrate me ahead of the long-haul flight and some proper sunshine;  and these intense hydration masks which I’ve been wearing overnight to juice up my skin and make sure I’m looking my best!).

It’s really inspiring to gather together with like minded people, and these days, that includes more and more Dads as well as mums, which is even more exciting to see. All of us have something in common, though.

Whether it’s full time employment, freelancing, consulting or coaching, we all know the juggle: Babysitters, busy schedules, begging and borrowing help wherever we can.

Luckily, you don’t need hours of uninterrupted time to run a successful Arbonne business.

*

I used to think there were two choices after having kids: returning to a career that meant I’d never get to spend time with my family; or giving up my financial independence and stay at home with the children.

That all changed on a yoga mat in Palm Springs.

When I discovered Arbonne, I wasn’t looking for an opportunity. I had a one and three year old, and we were taking a much needed break from building work in our house and the impact of my husband changing careers.

I was running my own business at the time, and it was so small that when I went on holiday, it stopped too. (My one member of staff took a break at the same time, because I just didn’t have the headspace to keep it going while I was away!). If you’ve ever been self-employed or freelancing you probably know that feeling: If you stop working, you stop earning.

I’d galvanise myself to get back to work before the holiday was over, feeling the pressure to get back on it.

Then I met Diane. She told me that she’d retired, but the residual income she’d built up with Arbonne meant she was still earning.

Instead of going to an office, she’d meet people for coffee, help them start their own Arbonne businesses, and spend the rest of the time doing what she wanted. Her income was steady, whether she worked or not.

Suddenly I realised there was a different way, beyond the “working / stay-at-home-mum” paradigm I’d been feeling so limited by. I realised it was possible to focus on my own priorities – looking after my kids, following my own dreams – with the freedom of not having to worry about money at the same time.

*

Have you ever recommended a great new restaurant or a film to a friend? When I love something, I talk about it, and recommend it to anyone who’ll listen. I’m the person who posts their latest discovery on Facebook and tells everyone I know. If I believe in something and I see the results, I want to spread the word. You too?

Every company in the world relies on people doing that. Arbonne’s secret is recognising that the person talking about it has an amazing value to them, and compensating us for it.

So when that person you’ve told about a brilliant new product decides to buy it, you’re rewarded. You’re not working when they place their order, and they’re not paying anything extra – but you’re getting paid. And so, in five minute spots here and there, over coffee and catch ups with friends, in our normal day to day lives and conversations, our businesses grow.

My team are flourishing, because of the amazing network of supporters we’ve built up. Loyal customers like you who love Arbonne products for their families, for the positive impact they have on the environment, and for the amazing value that comes when a company doesn’t spend money on advertising because it’s grown through word of mouth.

*

Now I feel as though I’ve come full circle, because the fashion career I put on hold when I started my family is a priority again.

I’ve finally got the time and the financial freedom, through Arbonne, to go back to designing and producing limited edition dresses and jackets through my clothing brand Forever Young.

drawing

It feels amazing. Like I can take a breath… stop holding on for dear life and relax into doing what I love again.

When I put pen to paper and start drawing, it’s like seeing an old friend. It’s been a really special, vulnerable time of reconnecting with what I’ve done before, and knowing that steady income is there in the background takes so much pressure off.

I’m excited to bring back classic styles to any woman who has that “what do I wear?” feeling when there’s a special event coming up. (I’m currently working on three designs: a rose dress, a wrap dress and a bow jacket…. Watch this space!)

Running an Arbonne business has been so much more than a little bit of part time income. It’s given me freedom, and flexibility, all based on the simplest of concepts – mums (and dads!) sharing what works for us and our families.

If you’re curious about Arbonne and want to find out if it could work for you, join us at a Discover Arbonne event (scroll down for the full list of upcoming dates). There’s no pressure, just honest sharing about how it all works and other women ready to answer all your burning questions, so you can decide if this is the opportunity for you.

***

Discover Arbonne: Spring 2016

Wednesday 20th April
With AM Katie Young and DM Michelle McAtee
7:00pm for a 7:30pm start
At Poplar Rowing Club, Ferry Street, E14 3DT
Free – just buy a drink at the bar.
RSVP katienvp@me.com

Wednesday 27th April
With AM Katie Young and DM Michelle McAtee
At The Hospital Club, 24 St Endell Street, London WC2H 9HQ
RSVP katienvp@me.com

Saturday 7th May
Product Training Roadshow (For preferred clients and consultants only)
At Hotel Russell, 1-8 Russell Square
London WC1B 5BE
In-depth and valuable training on the newly launched products from GTC, from Field Leaders that are well informed and trained in their respective fields.

To register, log in to arbonne.com and select My Events > Arbonne Conferences > Product Training Roadshows

Leave a comment